3blackchicks.com

Switch to desktop

SNL Season 1 [12/05/06]

 

The Diva's review of
Saturday Night Live Season 1(2006)

 

Rated NR; 24 - 65 minute episodes
Genre: Television: Comedy

WARNING - SPOILERS BELOW.

Official Site
Retail Link

The Digest (Official press release):

Go Back to Where it All Began with the First Season of the Show that Changed Television Comedy Forever

“SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE”:
THE COMPLETE
FIRST SEASON
New Eight-DVD Set Includes All 24 Original, Unedited Season One Episodes
In their 90-Minute Format for the First Time Ever –
Available December 5, 2006

From Universal Studios Home Entertainment

The groundbreaking sketch comedy of the pioneering first season of NBC’s “Saturday Night Live” comes to DVD with digitally remastered picture and sound for the first time on December 5, 2006 from Universal Studios Home Entertainment.

Back in 1975, seven young performers came together as the Not Ready for Prime Time Players and created a multiple Emmy® Award-winning late-night comedy showcase that would become one of the most enduring and celebrated franchises in the history of television. In that first season comic geniuses John Belushi, Dan Aykroyd, Chevy Chase, Jane Curtin, Gilda Radner, Laraine Newman and Garrett Morris put their unforgettable stamp on television comedy and shocked viewers with their irreverent, smart and off-kilter humor. Now available for the first time, “Saturday Night Live”: The Complete First Season contains all 24 episodes of the debut season in their original 90-minute format, adding up to more than 30 hours of hilarious characters and memorable sketches, all the original musical performances by a roster of chart-topping artists and guest appearances by some of Hollywood’s most acclaimed actors and comedians.

The set includes unforgettable sketches such as Land Shark and the Killer Bees; musical performances include Simon & Garfunkel, Jimmy Cliff, Carly Simon and Patti Smith. “Saturday Night Live”: The Complete First Season guest hosts include Richard Pryor, Rob Reiner, Candice Bergen, Buck Henry and George Carlin. Just in time for the holidays, the eight-disc set comes in specially designed gift packaging with a limited-edition collectible book, audition footage and cast interview that aired the day before the first show! The set is sure to delight any SNL fan. “Saturday Night Live”: the Complete First Season is priced at $69.98 SRP. Pre-order close is October 31, 2006. In addition, all 24 individual episodes of Season One will also be available to download beginning December 5, 2006.

According to the New York Times, “Saturday Night Live” is “still the most pervasive influence on the art of comedy in contemporary culture.” Since its 1975 debut, SNL has been considered the gold standard for comedy on television, showcasing some of the brightest comedic lights of the past 30 years. The program has won 19 Emmy® Awards and been nominated for scores more, as well as winning the prestigious George Foster Peabody Award. With millions of viewers tuning in each week, the late-night comedy showcase has become an American institution and continues to be the highest rated show on late-night television.

Synopsis:

For more than 30 years, “Saturday Night Live” has been America’s favorite late-night television program, showcasing the talent of a generation of outrageously funny comedy performers. Now, for the first time, the legendary debut season of the longest-running comedy series in television history is available on DVD. All 24 Season One episodes, starring comedy revolutionaries John Belushi, Dan Aykroyd, Chevy Chase, Jane Curtin, Gilda Radner, Laraine Newman and Garrett Morris, are included in the original 90-minute format. With hosts including Candice Bergen, Rob Reiner, Lily Tomlin, George Carlin and Richard Pryor, “Saturday Night Live”: The Complete First Season also features performances by musical superstars such as Jimmy Cliff, Simon & Garfunkel, Carly Simon, Patti Smith and more.

The Dish

I remember watching SNL as a child. I have no idea how I managed to stay up so late at ages 5,6,7 on up. But I did and of course 99% of it went over my head, 100% of it went over my head, but I loved the skits for reasons they were not intended. Watching this DVD was a walk down memory lane and not always a good one. 15 minutes into it I began to get sad. I saw all of the artistic genius before me that was long gone. Not just the comedians like Belushi, Kaufman, Kahn, and Radner, but musical guests like Billy Preston and hosts Richard Pryor, Anthony Perkins, and Dudley Moore. All gone too soon. Sometimes it was a video obitiuary. After I got over feeling blue, chilled out and enjoyed it amazed at how timeless, yet dated it could be 1st guest host George Carlin talks about airport security checks which really cracked me up given what we go through now. Our first introduction to “Weekend Update”, Samurai Futaba (I love him),The Killer Bees, and Land Shark, to name a few. And tow of my favorite shows; Host Buck Henry and Host Desi Aranz.

The DVD

DVD SPECS

Number of Discs: 8
•Street Date: December 5, 2006
• Price: $69.98 SRP
• Running Time: 26 Hours 33 Minutes
•Technical Info: Dolby Digital 2.0; English SDH

Digital 5.1 and Spanish Dolby Surround audio with Spanish subtitles. Disc One
Shows:
• Air Date: 10/11/75 – Host: George Carlin – Music: Billy Preston and Janis Ian
• Air Date: 10/18/75 – Host :Paul Simon – Music: Simon&Garfunkel, Phoebe Snow, Randy Newman, and The Jesse Dixon Singers
• Air Date: 10/25/75 – Host: Rob Reiner – Music: Joe Cocker with John Belushi Disc Two
Shows:
• Air Date: 11/08/75 – Host: Candace Bergen – Music: Esther Phillips
• Air Date: 11/15/75 – Host: Robert Klein – Music: ABBA and Loudon Wainwright III
• Air Date: 11/22/75 – Host: Lily Tomlin – Music: Howard Shore’s All Nurse Band Disc Three
Shows:
• Air Date: 12/13/75 – Host: Richard Pryor – Music: Gil Scott-Heron
• Air Date: 12/20/75 – Host: Candace Bergen – Music: Martha Reeves and The Stylistics
• Air Date: 01/10/76 – Host: Elliot Gould – Music: Anne Murray Disc Four Shows:
• Air Date: 01/17/76 – Host: Buck Henry – Music: Bill Withers and Toni Basil
• Air Date: 01/24/76 – Host: Peter Cook and Dudley Moore – Music: Neil Sedaka
• Air Date: 01/31/76 – Host: Dick Cavett – Music: Jimmy Cliff Disc Five
Shows:
• Air Date: 02/14/76 – Host: Peter Boyle – Music: Al Jarreau
• Air Date: 02/21/76 – Host: Desi Arnaz – Music: Desi Arnaz
• Air Date: 02/28/76 – Host: Jill Clayburgh – Music: Leon Redbone Disc Six
Shows:
• Air Date: 03/13/76 – Host: Anthony Perkins – Music: Betty Carter
• Air Date: 04/17/76 – Host: Ron Nessen – Music: Patti Smith Group
• Air Date: 04/24/76 – Host: Raquel Welch– Music: Phoebe Snow and John Sebastian Disc Seven
Shows:
• Air Date: 05/08/76 – Host: Madeline Kahn – Music: Carly Simon
• Air Date: 05/15/76 – Host: Dyan Cannon – Music: Leon and Mary Russell
• Air Date: 05/22/76 – Host: Buck Henry – Music: Gordon Lightfoot Disc Eight
Shows:
• Air Date: 05/29/76 – Host: Elliot Gould – Music: Leon Redbone, Harlan Collins, and Joyce Everson
• Air Date: 07/24/76 – Host: Louise Lasser – Music: Preservation Hall Jazz Band
• Air Date: 07/31/76 – Host: Kris Kristofferson – Music: Kris Kristofferson and Rita Coolidge

 

The Directive

 

Over 20 hours of footage to peruse the genius that is SNL I can’t wait for the next volumes.

3BC Ratings

greenlight

 

Live! It’s Saturday Night!

 


Copyright Kamal "The Diva" Larsuel-Ulbricht, 2006
EMAIL: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
ICQ: 8690410
http://www.3blackchicks.com/

Member
            OFCS

 

Developed by Francis Doody

Top Desktop version